Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Kameron Goes To D.C. October 12, 2012

I’ve been agonizing over this for weeks. Kameron taking a class trip to Washington D.C.

To Our Lady of Greenwoods credit, they were very organized planning the trip. Meeting after meeting, they had the trip planned down to the last-minute. So why worry right? Kam is in the very capable hands of OLG and their chaperons.

The activities they have planned for the next two days are unbelievable really. A trip to the Smithsonian Institute, the Holocaust Museum, mass at the National Shrine, a guided tour of DC including the White House, WWII Memorial, Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall, The Lincoln Memorial, The Korean War Veterans Memorial, and the Martin Luther King Jr. National Monument, and that’s just the first day!

Today the kids get to go to Fords Theater, US Capitol Building (tour), lunch at Union Station, Mt. Vernon, Alexandria walking tour. After that, get this, a private pizza dinner and dance cruise on the Potomac!

Tomorrow they get to visit the US Marine Corp War Memorial and are touring Arlington National Cemetery that includes a changing of the guard and a wreath laying ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Then they come home.

Pretty exciting stuff right? Kameron was totally stoked going to the airport at 4:30 in the morning, me, not so much. When we got in he immediately found his friends and starting talking with them. I was trying to take a picture of him – this is what I got, annoyed as hell. His chaperone found his group and they started getting their tickets. I could feel my stomach churning as they grabbed their boarding passes.

I thought is he going to be too cool to say bye to his mom with all his friends around?

I get a little wonky when Kameron isn’t around. He’s been to CYO camp but that’s only 45 minutes away. This was a big trip for him, and just another step in the process of those words I really hate; growing up.

Looking at Mr. D I was like well, I guess it’s time to go. Then I heard “Mom.” I turned and Kameron had stepped away from his group and was motioning us over. I walked over to give him a hug (lying to myself that I wouldn’t cry.) He hugged me and then hugged Mr. D. Then he hugged me again, a little tighter than before. I told him that I loved him and to have a good time. “Ok” was my answer, and he was off.

I of course cried all the way to the car.

I was very happy to get a text message from Kam last night that said “We are in Washington D.C.” I asked if the plane ride was ok (he has problems with his ears) “Yes” he said. I was all great, have fun, I love you, text me if you want…I waited for a reply. Nothing. He did his due diligence and was off to monkey around with his friends. Which is fine. I’m surprised I got the text.

I’ll be very happy to see my little man and hear all about his great adventure in D.C. tomorrow, and to have him home.

 

Leave a Reply

