Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

AR = Average Replacement September 10, 2012

I know…

I already know ok?

Packers fans are going to come down on me. I’m not a real Green Bay fan. I’m a traitor. I’ve been accused and called every name in the book. You aren’t going to shock me. Your material is old, and so is Brett Favre. The difference is Favre is laughing all the way to the bank propped up with a cold one in Mississippi and you’re still deciding whether or not to get your kid the Bronco Manning jersey they’ve been asking for. Go ahead and buy the damn thing! It builds character.

This post is NOT about Brett Favre. It’s about being a Packers fan.

I’ve been a Packers fan my entire life. It just so happened that Brett Favre was my favorite quarterback. When my favorite quarterback left the Packers I followed him, with a jersey to wear, and a Direct TV package so I wouldn’t miss a play. I also watched the Packers games. I talked a lot of trash, but the year my Dad died was the year the Packers won the Super Bowl. Of course I wanted the Packers to win. My Dad would have loved to see it with me.

I’m a Packers fan.

It’s been a few years since Favre has been gone and I’ve had to adapt and adjust to the new quarterback in Green Bay. Although, I will never forget a phone conversation that I had with my friend Ryan Cox. It went like this:

Ryan: “You hate Rodgers don’t you? You really hate him!”

Me: “Yes I do.”

Ryan: “I’ll bet you’re the only Packers fan on the face of the earth that gets mad when he throws a touchdown.” (He was giggling at this point.)

Me: “A rushing touchdown is ok, but when he throws a touchdown…” At this point Ryan is laughing hysterically.

It wasn’t Favre. Ok, it was mostly Favre. I just didn’t like Aaron Rodgers. I’ve always thought he was just an average quarterback. Argue with me all night, it’s what I’ve always thought Favre or no Favre. I always liked, and my Dad did too, Matt Flynn. Who now plays for Seattle. Flynn didn’t get any playing  time in last nights game, and the Seahawks lost.  There was no way Flynn was ever going to get some playing time in Green Bay except pre-season, that’s just the way it is. So of course he left.

Think of AR’s situation. You’ve road the bench for I don’t know, 13 years behind one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time. Promised, obviously, that some day it would be AR’s time to shine in the Green Bay sun. AR’s got patience, I’ll give him that. Ask yourself is he the brightest star on the block? I’m sure he could have gone to other teams and had a very successful career, but good old Ted Thompson promised his golden boy someday it would be his time.

And in 2010 it was his time to shine.

Can you imagine how pumped up that guy was to play football? I mean I wouldn’t have been able to sleep for a week. He came out guns blazing. Amazing stats. He looked like he couldn’t be stopped. AR wasn’t stopped, he went all the way to the dance and won. Bravo AR, bravo.

One thing I do know is if you win the Super Bowl and the hearts of Green Bay fans everywhere, that has to be one of the biggest ego boosts in the universe. Baller doesn’t even begin to describe it.

Here’s where it gets interesting. The dust settles. AR is the man in Green Bay. Last season Packer fans were so certain that they would be going to the Super Bowl I know people that had booked hotel rooms to come to Indianapolis to see the Pack win another one. Thing is, they didn’t make it. From the looks of last nights game they won’t make it again this year.

Really? San Francisco hands you your ass at home? I watched the game intently and AR looked like a deer in headlights. Meanwhile people are AR is the greatest QB, he has ice in his veins, strength like no other in his throwing arm.

He’s average, that’s it. When the hoopla is over AR is just average.

Hey, maybe I’m wrong, as the season goes on we’ll see. They play again Thursday night.

Go Pack!

 

Leave a Reply

