Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Kids At Risk August 7, 2012

I pulled into CVS the other day. I had one thing to pick up, I knew it was going to be an in and out type of trip. My son on his iPod rolled his eyes at me when I told him to get out of the car and come inside with me.

Those of you born in the 70’s or earlier can probably relate to this situation. Parents going into the store for five to ten minutes (maybe longer) to pick up a few things. Sometimes we were told to lock the door, sometimes the car was running. This scenario would definitely be frowned upon these days. Times they have changed. We don’t live in that world anymore. Today unfortunately, a running car with children in it could be a prime kidnapping opportunity for some wack job just walking by. Leaving your children in a hot car can cause dire circumstances, even death as we’ve learned this summer.

It pisses me off.

Just the other day a Greenfield couple decided it would be a really good idea to leave their four children (ages three months to five years old) in their car while they grocery shopped. I don’t know what the temperature was that day, but on average we’ve been running in the 90’s. Temperatures in the 90’s can cause heat in cars to raise as high as 110 degrees. That’s hot! The parents have been charged with neglect of a child which is a class D Felony.

“At least five other central Indiana parents have been arrested in the past month for leaving children unattended in hot vehicles. In one case, a four-month old Greenfield girl died.” www.indystar.com

I noticed myself yesterday getting out of my car and looking around. It just so happened that I was parked next to a van that had a car seat in the back seat. I’ll admit it, I peered into the window to make sure there wasn’t a child inside. I’ve been a single mother. I know what it’s like to get a sleeping child out of a car and take it into a grocery store when it’s hot outside. I know what it’s like to have to pick up diapers at midnight in the bitter cold dragging a heavy car seat along with you.

There is no excuse for this.

The next time my teenager rolls his eyes at me because I’m making him get out of the car I won’t think twice about it. For those that decide to put their children’s life in jeopardy, I have an iPhone, and I know how to use it. I will try to get your children out of the car so they are safe. I will call the police, and wait until they get there to arrest you.

I would like to know what you think. Has this situation made you more aware of your surroundings? What would you do if you saw a child unattended in a vehicle? Would you do something or ignore it?

 

Leave a Reply

