Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

When You Wish Upon A Star June 6, 2012

A year ago I read a book called “The Go Giver” by Bob Burg and John D. Mann. The book is about a young associate striving for success but finding his efforts aren’t paying off. This is when he meets five mentors (called Go Givers) who teach him the Five Laws of Stratospheric Success. The laws are:

  1. The Law of Value: Your true worth is determined by how much more you give in value than you take in payment.
  2. The Law of Compensation: Your income is determined by how many people you serve and how well you serve them.
  3. The Law of Influence: Your influence is determined by how abundantly you place other people’s interests first.
  4. The Law of Authenticity: The most valuable gift you have to offer is yourself.
  5. The Law of Receptivity: The key to effective giving is to stay open to receiving.

I was in a good place with my business. My clients were happy, I was happy. Even though I was busy I felt like I could have been doing more. After reading “The Go Giver” I realized that I must do more but I wasn’t sure what “it” was. Then it dawned on me, the Make A Wish Foundation.

I’ve been a wish granter for the Make A Wish Foundation for the last 13 years. I’ve granted five wishes during the years and always participate in the annual Make A Wish Telethon answering phones. These efforts didn’t seem like enough. I decided I must go bigger. I was inspired. I emailed Juli at the Make A Wish Foundation and without hesitation said “I would like to sponsor a child’s wish this year.” She was surprised, and very excited when I told her the avenue I was going to take to raise the funds was through social media. She told me she would ask the current families that she had if the social media avenue would be acceptable to them. Make A Wish had never asked for funds through social media except during the Telethon. Most of the families like to remain out of the limelight social media can bring, as they’re dealing with enough.

A few weeks later Juli called me and said I had a family. I was thrilled! She emailed me all the information I needed along with an adorable picture of a three-year-old girl named Kamylle who lived in Indianapolis. In 2010, Kamylle was diagnosed with a condition called acute myeloid leukemia, a cancer of the myeloid blood cells, which affect the bone marrow. Her wish was to go to Disney World. I looked at her sweet face and thought, this is going to be easy.

It wasn’t. Each wish costs about $6,000 to grant. I started off on Twitter and Facebook asking for donations, sharing Kamylle’s story with everyone I knew. I was asking for just $5 from my Twitter and Facebook followers to help grant this wish. Donations trickled in and I started to get discouraged. That is when I remembered, “The key to effective giving is to stay open to receiving.” After I changed my mind, things started to happen. People were donating. Donations were being met. People whom I’d never met were donating. The real kicker was when a friend in Indianapolis said he would shave his head if we got to a certain dollar number. It worked. We didn’t get the entire $6,000 donated, but we got very close to half. With the Telethon going on, in a matter of minutes Kamylle’s wish was granted. I remember feeling so grateful for so many people helping me spread the word about Kamylle’s wish. When I opened my heart up to receiving, people really came through for Kamylle.

A few months later I got a few pictures from Juli from Kamylle’s trip. This is my favorite. 

 

Leave a Reply

