Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

My #Social46 January 23, 2012

First, let me say how thrilled I am to be part of #Social46.  It’s like getting to eat at the “grown up” table for the first time.  Yes; I still feel that way sometimes.

I love a good story.

But, first let me tell you about my friend… Steven Shattuck.

I remember the first time I met Steven and his wife Leah.  It was the first Social Media Happy Hour at Scotty’s Brewhouse .   I remember tweeting that I was attending the event.  He tweeted he was going to be there for dinner but not for that event.  I gave him a hard time and suggested that he come in and say hello – he said no.  I remember telling him “I’ll find you…”  I did.

What I especially like about Steven is that he lives in Indianapolis and loves the New England Patriots.  He guy gets as much flack, IF NOT MORE – than I ever have about being a Brett Favre fan, and I’ve gotten a lot of flack over the years.  Even more so about (me) openly not being a Colts fan.  Some Sundays I felt like the guy with the blindfold on, a cigarette in my mouth, just waiting for the firing squad to completely demolish me.  I could always count on a snide DM from Steven about a whatever game I was tweeting about, or a certain player, that would make me laugh out loud.  The guy is clever.

So now I jump to Christmas this year.  Everybody was SURE the Packers were going to the Super Bowl this year.  Analysts, ESPN, local tv people – all the “talking heads” knew it.  Hell, my mom (who isn’t really a big football fan) knew it.  Which made unwrapping my two “Media Day” passes from her even more exciting.  I was going to be able to see the Packers at a really cool event up close and personal in my hometown!  That Rocks.

Well, we all know how that scenario worked out…

So here I am with these two Media Day passes.  I’m not going to give them up – duh.  Regardless of the two teams that would be in the Super Bowl, Mr. D and I would be going to Media Day.  It’s the first time ever fans were going to be allowed in during Media Day, I wasn’t missing out.

Then I started seeing #Social46 invites being handed out to people on Twitter.  I didn’t know what it was, so I did a little research.  It sounded cool, and I wanted to be involved, but the chances of me getting an invite seemed rare – almost bleak.  (Remember the table reference.)

I got my #Social46 invite while I was dining out at Iozzo’s for Devour Downtown.  I cried.  I’m not kidding, I was so excited, I cried.

Going to the meeting was so cool.  I tried to keep it undercover, but I was as giddy as a school girl.  Then when the hashtag idea started getting thrown around I said – “why not use #Super46?”  The wind in my sails was quickly checked back into reality when I was reminded  “they’re using that for the sandwich contest.”   Duh Stephanie….sheesh, they’ll let anyone into these things, lol..

We got some really cool stuff.  A Super Bowl “Social 46” hat, a Super Bowl scarf, a NFL Experience ticket, and…a Media Day Ticket.

On the way home, knowing I already had my own Media Day tickets, a plan formed.  I remember telling Mr. D what I was thinking, but didn’t mention it to anyone else.  Things that were beyond my control had to work exactly right in order for my plan to actually be executed.

Watching the New England game was stressful.  I had this plan, and had played out the scenario in my head, but I had to watch and wait.  When the kicker for Baltimore missed what should have been a chip shot to tie the game; Mr. D turned to me and said “make the call.”

So thanks to #Social46 for the opportunity to represent my home town, in the coolest way ever!  I’m truly honored and humbled to be able to participate in this experience.

And….Shattuck gets to see the Pats at Media Day.

I love it when a plan comes together.

 

2 Responses to “My #Social46”

  1. Bnpositive Says:

    Great story! I won’t be rooting for the Patriots, but happy that Shattuck and you got and get to participate in all of the events taking place.


Leave a Reply

