Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

You Did Not!!!…….. January 16, 2012

For those of you that clicked on this link thinking that I was going to do another debate about whether or not someone my age should wear glitter nail polish, I’m going to apologize right now. That is not what this post is about at all. My most popular post to date was my glitter nail polish blog, after that it was about my faith in God. This post has absolutely nothing to do with either one of those subjects, so if you’re mad at me, I will say “I’m sorry.” If you’re interested in sports at all, I would encourage you to read on. If not, click the next link.

The title of this blog post should be “I Will Never See The Green Bay Packers Win In Indianapolis.”

Why? I never have. The only games I’ve seen in Indianapolis have been with my Dad, and now that he’s gone, I doubt I will ever see a Packers win in Indianapolis.

I was pretty psyched when I got “Media Day” tickets for the upcoming Super Bowl in Indy. I thought for sure that the Packers would be in the final game. Until the other day. I don’t know what it was, but I got a really bad feeling about the game. Everyone thought, surely a win for the Packers. Getting the “Bye” week, enduring the fatal misfortune of their Offensive Coordinators son, the team was together. It was their time, at home, a team they beat earlier this year, no doubt about it.

Damn it all, I know better.

November 16, 1997. In Indianapolis, the year after they won the Super Bowl. My Dad and I were STOKED. We had tickets to the game, an opportunity to see our favorite team, and Quarterback, in our home town. No doubt in our mind we would witness a Packers win…

“Cary Blanchard’s fourth field goal of the game, a 20-yarder as time expired, lifted the Indianapolis Colts to their first win of the season, a 41-38 upset of the defending Super Bowl champion Green Bay Packers.

Colts quarterback Paul Justin, who threw for a career-high 340 yards, completed two passes to tight end Ken Dilger for 55 yards on the drive, including a 28-yarder to the Green Bay 1. Justin downed the ball three times to run the clock before Blanchard came on.

“We decided to kneel on the ball,” said Justin about the decision not to go for the touchdown in the final seconds. “The way our luck has been going this year, we could have fumbled the ball. Go ahead and put it in Cary’s hands; if he missed it was meant to be, but he made it.”

Who the hell is Paul Justin?

“I’ll answer the question now — we were not looking ahead to the Dallas game,” said Favre. “We felt we should have won. We put up a lot of points. We had a lot of fans here — maybe more than them.”

I can confirm, the Packers had more fans there at a Colts home game, no question about it.

Fast forward to the last game my Dad and I saw together.

September 26. 2004. A shoot-out. An incredible shoot-out between Favre and Manning. Even behind a pillar at the RCA Done, Dad and I cheered on our Packers in spite of the derogatory comments from Colts fans. For all of you Colts Fans, you can kiss my ass. I was embarrassed to be from Indianapolis and treated in such a way that I felt ashamed to be from Indianapolis.) I’ve heard from people “you should be happy you didn’t go to Kansas City, or to Dallas, or to New York.” To all of those people I will say; you’re stupid. I’m ok with friendly – even a little hostile banter. If I can’t handle that I have no business being at a football game in the first place. I would NEVER EVER call a person cheering for the visiting team the things I was called in my home town – Period.

“INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Peyton Manning and Brett Favre threw nine touchdown passes between them and weren’t even the heroes.

Manning threw for 393 yards and five first-half touchdowns. Favre threw for 358 yards and four TDs and the Packers rallied from an 18-point halftime deficit to within a touchdown.

The game started with five touchdown passes in the first 11 minutes, three by Manning and two by Favre, a pace that would have added up to 175 points between them if they had kept going. Indianapolis threw 22 passes and did not have a running play in the first quarter as Manning and Favre aired it out.”

It was an incredible game. I’m not kidding. I was telling Mr. D the scope of the game tonight, and it still gives no justice to what an amazing football game it was. Besides that, how happy I was to have shared it with my Dad.

Now I’m convinced that I will never see at Packers win in Indianapolis.

I was hopeful…. that I would be able to see the Packers at Media Day in Indy. It would have meant a lot to me, damnit.

I’ll arrive at Media Day with my Favre jersey on, and a few Bloody Mary’s ingested – just to celebrate… What? I’m not really sure. I’ll figure it out.

 

Leave a Reply

