Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Date Heard ‘Round The World October 21, 2011

Filed under: Stuff — stepheppichdaily @ 1:28 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, at least to three people.

Sunday, October 22, 2006 the (1-4) Green Bay Packers (with Brett Favre) were playing the Miami Dolphins – in Miami.  It was a typical Sunday afternoon for my Dad.  He got up, went to church, and came over to my house to watch the Packers play.

What he didn’t know is that his “baby” met a man the night before.  A man that she had planned to go meet at a winery around 4 p.m. the next day to do some wine tasting and get to know him (without the crowd of people who surrounded them the night before –  at a party she had crashed.)  Which meant she had to leave her Dad alone, at her house,  in the latter part of a Packers game (an unprecedented event.)

Dad didn’t seem to notice that I didn’t have my typical Packers gear on, he probably thought since their record was so crappy I was testing out a new outfit to help our superstitious minds/Packers karma.   Nothing was out of the ordinary as far as he was concerned.  We had beer, we had chips and dip, we were both cussing and yelling at the game.  He was focused on false starts,  I was watching two clocks.  The game clock, and the clock on my wall.  I thought when I planned the meeting that the game would surely be “over” or in the hands of the Packers before I announced that I had to leave.  Sometimes, if the game was completely out of control (Packers winning)  Dad and I would switch over to another game just to see what else was going on in the league.   This particular game, the game Gods were not in my favor.  The game was entirely too close, with the Packers down a touchdown at the end of the third quarter, my Dad sighed, cracked open a beer and said, “let’s see how the Skins are doing baby.”  I never knew why my Dad was interested in the Redskins, until later, I realized that it was where Lombardi went after he left the Packers.

Fourth Quarter and my clocks are not agreeing with each other.  I knew I would have to leave my house at the very latest by 3:30 pm to make it to the winery on time, or at least with a few minutes to spare.

I remember the fourth quarter, watching most of it, while keeping my eye on the date clock.  I finally went in my bathroom, checked the make up, checked the outfit, and with a sickness in my stomach, ventured back into my living room where Favre had thrown a touchdown, and the Packers were up by 7, I felt confident that they were going to win, and that Dad would totally understand the plan I was about to present to him.

I remember walking into the living room and Dad saying, “can you believe this shit- they’ve (the refs) have  been calling offsides on us (Packers) all day today.”  He looked at me, and I said “Dad, I have to go.”  He ignored me at first, until I kept standing there.  I looked at the game clock, there was 3:23 left in the game (I know that was the exact time, I’ll never forget that.)   He looked at me and said “where the hell are you going, the game isn’t over yet.”  I looked at the game and I said “Dad I know, but I met this guy last night,”  my Dad took a disapproving drag off his cigarette and shook his head.   I went over to him and kissed his cheek,  just about then Longwell had kicked a field goal to put the Packers up by 10 points.   I put my hand on his shoulder and said “Dad, if I didn’t think this might be something special, I would never leave, can you just lock the door behind you when you go?”  I remember him smiling at me and saying “Baby, I’ll lock everything up, if you don’t mind, I might stay a while to see how these other games turn out” – then he said, “whoever he is, does he know you’re leaving at the end of a game to meet him?”    I smiled and said “no Dad.”

Nine months later my Dad walked me down the aisle to marry that guy that interrupted the Packers game, he was pretty happy about it.

 

One Response to “The Date Heard ‘Round The World”

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

    Congrats, Mr and Mrs. D!


Leave a Reply

