Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Dear Mr. Irsay, go “Favre” yourself August 22, 2011

Filed under: Favre You — stepheppichdaily @ 9:27 pm

My God.

20 hours ago my life was normal, and then this happened….

 “JimIrsay Jim Irsay
 I’m in Mississippi,down at the crossroads….looking 4 that deal Mr. Johnson cut  so many years ago….”
And then this…
“JimIrsay Jim Irsay
Brad,I’m in Hattiesburg…is it right or left at the Firechief?
And then this…
ShawnieQRShawnieQR: Lord knows I don’t want #Favre playing for the #Colts but the humor of seeing @seppichdaily in a #Colts jersey would last a lifetime! 11:52am, Aug 22 from Web
seppichdailyseppichdaily: @shawnieqr HaHaHa laugh all you want Shawnie, this girl doesn’t wear blue, even if there is a #Favre on it! #favreyou (first one this year) 11:56am, Aug 22 from HootSuite
minipegminipeg: @seppichdaily @shawnieqr OMG that would totally be worth having #Farve here as a #Colts!! I would love to see that!! 🙂 12:02pm, Aug 22 from Web
ShawnieQRShawnieQR: @minipeg @seppichdaily It would be a cold day in hell – but the thought of it cracks me up! 12:08pm, Aug 22 from Twitter for iPhone
minipegminipeg: @ShawnieQR @seppichdailyOh I’m rolling on the inside! 12:13pm, Aug 22 from Web

These people are my friends?

These aren’t the only posts that I’ve gotten on Twitter or Facebook, and until this rumor is resolved, surely they won’t be the last.

But good Lord, Favre in a Colts uniform?  It unimaginable to me.  Just as Favre being in a Vikings uniform was like Judas betraying Jesus (to Packer fans) – not three but FOUR times.

Favre being with the Vikings, and me being ok with it, is something that only my Dad understood.  Dad and I were up in Lambeau when Brett made his return flight to Green Bay.  We were at the pads practice, along with ESPN and every Packer fan in Green Bay and within who knows how many miles.  What we heard and saw up there, was not what you heard and saw from Ted Thompson, or the Packer Organization.  People were pissed.  Fans were booing Rodgers as he stepped out onto the practice field.  They wanted Favre back, and they were letting it be known.  The Packers weren’t listening.

We all know what happened after that.  Brett went to play for the Jets.  Then retired.  The went to the Vikings, totally kicked ass, missed the Super Bowl.  Came back for a second year, and got his ass kicked. I half halfheartedly cheered for the Packers in the Super Bowl, and was glad that they won.  However, Aaron Rodgers will never be my Quarterback.

That was it for me.  That was the end of Brett’s career as a football player.  I imagine him now mowing his back 40 with a piece of hay hanging out of his mouth, waiving to neighbors.

So enters Mr. Irsay with his ridiculous tweets.  Enters my friends with “will Stephanie finally become a Colts fan?”

The answer is no.  The only way you’re getting a Colts jersey on me is if you photoshop one on – DON’T get any ideas.

Even if Favre were to come to Indianapolis, I couldn’t in good faith become a “Colts Fan.”  That’s originally why I couldn’t stand Colts fans, because they were bandwagon fans.  One of my favorite things to do during football season is to watch my twitter feed, all the whining and crying of Colts fans.  Calling for Tony Dungy (when he was there) to get fired.  To bench Manning.  The defense sucks, the offense sucks, another interception #OMGCOLTS.

It may seem that I’m being a bit of a hypocrite, which in some peoples eyes;  I truly am.  Jumping teams with Favre.  My assortment of jerseys.  One thing I was always constant with was Favre was my quarterback, no matter what team he played for.  Reminiscent of Joe Montana’s fans back in the day – (who ironically I didn’t like – lol.)  They loved Joe, but at some point, enough was enough.

That’s where I’m at with Brett.  Enough is enough.

Curiously, if this “does” happen, it puts Brett in the same city with me….Maybe this isn’t such a bad idea after all.  That was a joke… kinda….

If he does end up coming, I’ll watch him, and hope that he doesn’t get his head torn off.

 

Leave a Reply

