Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

How will I survive this? May 24, 2011

Filed under: I am still learning,Uncategorized — stepheppichdaily @ 1:29 pm

So I’m sitting at my kitchen table, looking through the mail, perusing one of my favorite catalogs, Uncommon Goods, when Kameron exclaims “MOM!” I look up, usually this means that he got a really good grade on a test, or that he’s discovered another cheat code to get to another level in his game he’s playing at the moment. He hands me a piece of colorful paper. An art project, I assume. But no, as I begin to read the colorful paper it says at the top “5th Grade End Of The Year Party.” “It’s gonna be awesome Mom,” as my stomach tightens. Where? At Claire’s house. Claire? The girl that sent him to my car on Valentines day with big tears in his eyes saying “she doesn’t like me the way I like her mom.” I’ve never wanted to beat up a fifth grade girl so badly (not really, sorta) but I was heartbroken for my son that day. Then I stopped, wait a minute, this is a girl/boy party. Then my head starts to spin, I can feel my lunch coming up, I turn and there is Kameron’s excited eyes right in front of me. “It’s a pool party Mom,” I gasped. “Sounds great bud.” He basically skips into his room. Leaving me with the dreaded pool party invitation in my hand.

At that moment, as a parent, a thousand ridiculous thoughts run through your head. Although, some might not be so ridiculous. I remember getting the call from Kameron’s kindergarten teacher that he has kissed Kaitlyn (his kindergarten crush) on the playground at school, that was fun. I remember being interested in boys in the 5th grade, but that just meant we chased them on the playground, and passed ridiculous notes in school. The “Do you like Stephanie – check yes or no” note. This has seemed to progress, rather quickly, for MY son, and this Mom.

The fact of the matter is, I had a boy/girl party at my grandparents house on Halloween when I was in the 5th or 6th grade. There was a huge uproar among the parents, if it was appropriate or not. I remember several parents sticking around, with the anticipation of a child dancing too close to another child. Simply this, we were too young and scared to do anything, because we didn’t know anything.

These kids know stuff, that makes me loose my lunch.

I have to believe that I have raised a respectable, honorable, young man. He might be girl crazy, however, he will be polite and gracious. Or grounded for the rest of his life.

If I hear anything about how someone looked in someone elses swimsuit, or if spin the bottle comes up, he’s a dead man.

 

One Response to “How will I survive this?”

  1. Judy Eppich Says:

    You were in 6th grade and yes the parents were crazy -many stayed and were surprised how a bunch of 12 & 13 year olds could have such fun…There were games, music, candy, the spooky tent with a brain, eyeballs and liver to touch and a great time was had by all! You will survive the 5th grade party and many more to come…welcome to the real incentive for prayer. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

