Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rushing Into Marriage? October 17, 2010

Filed under: Stuff — stepheppichdaily @ 8:29 pm

October 21st is sort of an “anniversary” for me & Mr D.  We met 4 years ago that day.  I crashed a party, he asked me out for the next day, yada yada yada, we’ve been together ever since.

Mr D. proposed on Valentines Day, and we got married on July 14, 2007.   It was a short courtship, granted.  When something feels right, it’s just right.  Opinions might be that we rushed into marriage, we really did, but just not the way you think.

It was a perfect July day, not a cloud in the sky, and not hot.  Since Mr D. and I had both been married in the “church” before we opted to tie the knot in Bloomington, Indiana at Beck Chapel.  The plan was for Mr D to head out early with the boys to pick up a few things before the wedding, I was to drag the girls out of bed and head out to get our hair done before making the drive to Bloomington for the 2:30 “I Do’s”.

Isn’t there always a snag?  Even when you have the best intentions, especially on your wedding day?  The kegs were iced down and the tubs leaked.  The bouncy house had a hole in it and it had to be emergency patched.  My step-daughter Sam, who knew she had that much freakin hair?  So we were both running a tad behind.

Down S.R. 37 to Bloomington there isn’t a lot to look at.  Pretty much a stretch of empty nothingness.  I had my friend from Michigan and Mr D’s daughter’s in the car with me.  There’s this hill, right before you get to the first exit in Bloomington.  If you’ve even been to Bloomington you know exactly where I’m talking about.  The first exit was my exit.  I reached the top of the hill seeing my exit destination and watching the clock, I was cutting it close.  I didn’t even see the cop.

I was in the zone, I didn’t even hear my friend the first time when she said, you’re getting pulled over.  The second time, I heard her.  What – are you freaking kidding me?  It wasn’t a joke, I saw the lights behind me and eased over to the shoulder of the road, heaving a heavy sigh looking at my exit damn near in front of me.

I’m thinking.. I’m good, I’ll just explain to the officer that it’s my wedding day and I’m running a tad behind, he’ll let me go.  The officer, I found out later, gives out more tickets than any officer in the State, he gets awards and stuff.  So he wasn’t moved by my upcoming nuptials.  $150.00 and 15 minutes later, I’m back on my way to my wedding, which now, it’s a toss up if I’m getting there by 2:00.  None of us are dressed, I’m pissed, it’s not a good scene.

I called Mr D, he didn’t answer.  I called my parents to tell them what happened and to see where they were.  They were running a tad behind as well, which was very uncharacteristic of my Dad.  “Did you tell him you were getting married” is the question I got.  DUH…

Pulling into the lot at Beck, trying my best to not sweat off my makeup because of stress, running into the Chapel, down to the brides room, I got the call.

Mr D had gotten pulled over.  My parents passed him on 37 and saw him pulled over.  Same cop, same spot, same $150.00.  How do you like that?

So we didn’t get married AT 2:30 exactly.

However, Reverend Emerson was very charming when he said “I’ve heard of people rushing into marriage, but this is ridiculous.”

 

One Response to “Rushing Into Marriage?”

  1. Pam Says:

    Awww so cute! Stay away from cops today!


Leave a Reply

