Stepheppichdaily's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

#HITW Hole In The Wall Lunch Group May 16, 2010

Filed under: Stuff — stepheppichdaily @ 3:51 pm

When I happened on the Smaller Indiana website I was definitely intrigued by the tag line “Making people and ideas findable”. At the time I was job hunting, and someone pointed me in the Smaller Indiana direction. First things first, make a profile, check, next order of business find some groups to participate in. So I searched, found a couple of networking groups that I wanted to be a part of. Then I found The Hole In The Wall Lunch Group, interested, I read on. “No chain restaurants allowed! If you have a favorite dive of a restaurant in Indy or surrounding areas, we want to hear about it. Bonus points for your personal recommendations on the menu.” Food, gatherings, fun, meet new people, I joined without hesitation.

The M.O. on the group, we get together once a month to try out new, or old, places in Indy. I went to my first lunch early this year. I really didn’t know what to expect. What I found was there are some serious Foodies here in Indianapolis. People were laughing, trading stories and business cards, offering referrals to anyone that asked, all while enjoying their lunch. There were about 20 people at my first HITW, all from different backgrounds, (a Data Analyst, Realtor, Phone Company people, a Owner of a local IN biz, a performer, customer service rep, a marketing rep, a social media guru, etc.) all with one common goal – FOOD.

The restaurants like us, because we bring on average 10-20 people into their establishment. We let them know we’re coming ahead of time so they can prepare. We take pictures of the food, write reviews, tweet about it, to get a buzz going about their establishment. On the website, we suggest places to go, what to order when you get there, who the owner is, and to tell them “We” collectively say “Hi”.

I’ve met some of my dearest friends because of the Hole In The Wall Lunch Group. If you would like to join us, we post our lunches on http://smallerindiana.com/groupholeinthewalleatingclub. We meet the 3rd Friday of each month at 1:00.

You’re hungry aren’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

